Duplicate is basically the same as save as, but they've swapped the order of operations. Save as would have you pick a destination, then start editing. Duplicate lets you edit and then choose where to save. I'm guessing part of the reason for the change was also that save as sounds like "rename" when it is in fact "duplicate under a new name"